In hindi language Char means four & dham means religious places. The Uttrakhand Chardham Yatra is considered as most sacred and precious places for every Hindu devotee to visit atleast once in their lifetime. According to hindu religious leaders you can get rid of your sins and past misdeeds and can achieve the ultimate goal of life which is known as ‘Moksha’. Moksha is also known as Mukti in hindi language. The meaning of this is being released from the cycle of life and death. Chardham Yatra is most popular religious yatra in India. All four Dhams Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath and Badrinath makes Chardham. All dham have great significance in hindu religion and is located in Garhwal region.

The Chardham Yatra starts every year in month of April-May. The number of worshipers are in millions who came every year for Chardham Yatra. It is also known for the enthralling atmosphere and adventurous mountains. The opening dates are decided by the priest such as Badrinath opening date is declared on Basant Panchami and same is done for other dhams. The Chardham is opened for 6 months. It is not declared yet but this year the yatra starts from 3rd May to 8th May. The yatra begins from the West by the pilgrimage and ends in the East.

Haridwar is the starting point of the Chardham Yatra. Haridwar is also known as “Gateway to Gods”. It is known for beautiful temples, food and locations. Haridwar is in plain region and is easily accessible by the train and road. For air transportation you can fly to Dehradun and then proceed to Haridwar by road with bus or local vehicles.
Traditionally, Chardham is always starts from Yamunotri then Gangotri then Kedarnath and ends on Badrinath. It follows this fixed sequence from Yamunotri to Badrinath. 

Now you'll read more about Chardhams in sequence.

1. Yamunotri Dham

Yamunotri is of the four most idolized religious place. It is located in the district of Uttarkashi in the region of Garhwal Himalayas. Yamunotri Dham is dedicated to the daughter of sun, the goddess Yamuna. It is famous for its sight of glaciers and hot water spring. It is believed that you can wash off your all sins by bathing in the Yamuna water. That is why it is the first place to start your journey of chardham to achieve moksha.
Kalind Parvat is the source of Yamuna river. The best time to visit yamunotri is month of May-June. In Yamunotri, places like Divya Shila, Surya Kund and Saptrishi Kund are also famous for its religious beliefs. The temple open on the day of Akshaya Tritiya and gets closed on Yama Dwitiya. The darshan timing is from 6:00am to 8:00pm.

2. Gangotri Dham

Gangotri is the second point after the Yamunotri. Gangotri is a small town which is located in the district of Uttarkashi near Shivling Peak in the Himalayas. Gangotri is also bordering Tibet. The temple is dedicated to the goddess Ganga. It is the primary source of Ganga river. Ganga is the largest longest & the most sacred river in India. The real source of Ganga is the Gaumukh Glacier and it is 19km from the Gangotri temple. The routes are very challenging as there are several peaks such as Shivling, Meru, Thalay Sagar. The flow of Ganga is very rough. The Chaukhamba is the highest peak. Gaumukh, the Gangotri Glacier resemble as cow's mouth and is about 19km from the Gangotri town. Gaumukh is the source of Bhagirathi, another name for Ganga. The distance between Yamunotri and Gangotri is approx 227km. The famous places of Gangotri are Gaumukh Glacier, Shivling, Bhairov Ghati etc. The timing of the temple is from 6:30am to 2:30pm & 3:00pm to 9:00pm. The best time to visit Gangotri is May-June or Sept-Oct.

3. Kedarnath Dham

 Kedarnath is the third dham of the Chardham Yatra. Kedarnath is one of the most admired and respected temple of India and is one of the most revered among Panch Kedar.

Kedarnath temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva and also one of the 12 Jyotirlingas. The temple is located near the source of Mandakini river covered by Himalayas near Chorabari Glacier. 
In winters the whole town remain closed for several months due to heavy snowfall. After the incident of 2013 disaster in Kedarnath the Shankracharya temple was renovated. Also a statue of Adi Shankracharya of height 12ft was installed. It is also the major attraction of the devotees and tourists. You have to trek from Gaurikund to reach Kedarnath. If you have any medical condition or want to avoid trekking then you can take a helicopter flight or a ponny. The places to visit in Kedarnath are Bhairavnath Temple, Adi Shankracharya temple, Vasuki Tal etc. The best time to visit Kedarnath is May-June or Oct-Nov. Darshan timing is 6:00am to 2:30pm and closed from 3:00pm to 5:00pm and opened for rest of the hours. 

4. Badrinath Dham

 The fourth is the Badrinath. It located near the Lakshman Ganga and Alaknanda confluence in Chamoli district in Garhwal. Badrivan was also the alternative name of Badrinath due lots of Badri shurb. It also has hot water ponds. This place is also recognised as the meeting place of nature and gods. The Badrinath temple is dedicated to Vishnu. This temple is also the part of Do Dham Yatra. Inside the temple, a black stone which has a diamond on its head resembles and worshipped as Lord Vishnu. This stone is surrounded by others gods statue like Nar & Narayan, Kuber and Narad. The temple is 15meter high and has 3 kalash at the top of the it. The priest and sadhus says that Lord Vishnu came here to meditate and Goddess Lakshmi came here to make prasad of the Vishnu pooja and the Narad serves the prasad to all the Bhakts and devotees who came here for darshan. Badrinath is open for only six months April-Nov and during winters the light (soul) of Vishnu transfers to Narsingh Temple in Joshimath for the rest of the six months. The best places in Badrinath are Bheem Pul, Vasundhara Waterfall, Tapta Kund, Vyas Gufa etc. You can reach Badrinath by helicopter flight or by road from Kedarnath. Dashan timing is 5:00am to 1:00pm and 4:00pm to 9:00pm. Best months to visit Badrinath are May-June or Sept-Oct.